View of Whiteplains Plantation

View of Whiteplains Plantation
Over Head View

Monday, December 11, 2017

SCBC video retrospective of Gerald Ballard 12/11/2017

FAA Safety Team | Safer Skies Through Education

"Six Steps to the Perfect Preflight Brief"
Topic: How to Conduct a Safe, Expeditious and Thorough Preflight Brief.
On Tuesday, December 26, 2017 at 16:30 Pacific Standard Time (17:30 MST, 18:30 CST, 19:30 EST, 14:30 HST, 15:30 AKST, 17:30 Arizona, 00:30 GMT)
Select Number:
WP0179816
Description:
In this 60 minute webinar, Delia Colvin, aviation weather expert, international bestselling author and 15 year veteran of Air Traffic Control will walk you through her favorite sites and tools for conducting a SAFE self briefing;
    •    Learn the 6 elements you MUST CHECK in any brief
    •    What hazardous weather doesn't qualify as an "Adverse Condition"
    •    How to significantly reduce needless data
    •    The proposed replacement for Area Forecast
    •    When severe weather doesn't qualify as an adverse condition
Plus we'll walk through a standard weather brief, followed by Q&A
Click here to register today

To view further details and registration information for this webinar, click here.
The sponsor for this seminar is: FAASTeam

The following credit(s) are available for the WINGS/AMT Programs:
Basic Knowledge 3 - 1 Credit
Advanced Knowledge 1 - 1 Credit

Click here to view the WINGS help page
Invite a fellow pilot to the next WINGS Safety Seminar in your area.

Steve Sanderson - Guest from Whiteplains



Chilly Sunday greetings from South Florida, where the temps have dipped down into the mid 40s this morning.  46 as we speak, the locals have gone crazy and are wrapped up in their blankets, while the Northerners are only mildly amused.

Jenny is off on another assignment this weekend, but I was honored to have dinner here last evening with our former South Carolina neighbors, John and Vicky Gardner, and Ann Cargile and Bobbi Crimm:

Reported by: Steve Sanderson

Friday, December 08, 2017

Obituary for Gerald Ballard



Gerald Ballard

Obituary
  • "Gerald touched many lives with his stories, antic's and..."
    - Larry Garner

Mr. Gerald M. Ballard, Hephzibah, GA, entered into rest on Monday, December 4, 2017. 

Mr. Ballard was born to the late Arthur M. Ballard and Eleanor V. Ballard in Fredericksburg, VA on September 30, 1939. He was preceded in death by his former wife, Frances Louise Skillman. He was a veteran of the United States Air Force (1959-1964). He was the owner and President of Ballard Truck and Tire Company in Augusta, GA since 1968. He was the President of the South Carolina Breakfast Club since 1979. He was awarded the 1998 Aviator of the Year at the Boshears Memorial Fly-In. His proudest and most honorable accomplishment was when he was inducted into the South Carolina Aviation Hall of Fame in 2004. 

He is survived by his daughters Janet Ballard Frazier (Russell) and Rebecca Ballard Wyles. And Michael Ballard. He is survived by four Grandsons; Derek Touchstone, Dalton James, Alex Wyles and Noah Wyles. Additionally, he is survived by three sisters; Marita K. Broussard of Columbia, SC, Sally B. Hill (Ken) of Indian Harbor Beach, FL, and S. Kay Taraschi (Peter) of Indiatlantic, FL and numerous nieces and nephews. 

Visitation will be held on December 10, 2017 at Platts Funeral Home, Belair Road Chapel, Evans, GA from 4:00 p.m. until 7:00 p.m. Funeral services will be held at 2:00 PM on Monday, December 11, 2017 at Platts Funeral Home, Belair Road Chapel, Evans, GA with the Reverand Ben Bartlett officiating. Burial will follow at Westover Memorial Park.

The pallbearers are Derek Touchstone, Dalton James, Alex Wyles, Noah Wyles, Kerry Hale, and Ernest Tukes. Honorary pallbearers are All Members of the S.C. Breakfast Club.

If so desired, memorial donations may be made to Vaucluse First Baptist Church, 2 Church St, Vaucluse, SC 29850. 

Please sign the guestbook and send condolences at www.plattsfuneralhome.com.

logo


logo

Thursday, December 07, 2017

Gerald's Final Arragement Completed

All - Gerald's final arrangements have been completed and will be published in The State and The Augusta Chronicle tomorrow thru Sunday.

Both the Visitation and Funeral 

will be held at Platt's West Funeral Home,
 337 North Belair Road, Evans, GA 30809.

The Visitation will be Sunday, 
December 10, from 4-7pm.

The Funeral will be Monday, December 11 at 2pm - followed by interment at Westover Cemetary, 2602 Wheeler Road in Augusta.

Logistics would not allow us to have the funeral at Twin Lakes (much as Gerald wished); however, a Memorial gathering will be held at Twin Lakes in the Spring - date to be determined.

Please continue to hold Gerald's family in your thoughts and prayers - and keep those stories coming...



Wednesday, December 06, 2017

Robot Vs. Human Pilot: Drone Challenge - Plane & Pilot Magazine






Robot Vs. Human Pilot: Drone Challenge - Plane & Pilot Magazine: Recently, researchers at NASA’s JPL tested out an autonomous drone vision-based navigation system for by racing them against a human drone pilot.

Gerald Ballard - Passed





I am sorry to announce that on Monday evening Gerald Ballard passed away. We all know him as the master of ceremony for the South Carolina Breakfast Club for many years.

A memorial service is being planned in his hangar on Monday.  Time to be determined.  For more information contact Stoney Truitt at 803-603-1140.


Posted 12/6/2017